Subscribe55 gallon planting ideas
Hotaru
Small Fry
Kudos: 4
Votes: 0
female usa
EditedEdited 31-Oct-2010 15:41
Hi!

I'm new to the hobby and am hoping to have a 55 gallon tank tomorrow to set up. I've been skimming the forums for ideas and am thinking about a driftwood piece with live plants. I keep seeing sand is bad for beginners, but what about egg crate with not-too small gravel and sand as a mix? I'm wanting some dojo loaches, and since they like to burrow, I'm not sure what kind of bottom I should use.

As for plants, moss seems the easiest. I don't want to have to spend the extra cash for a co2 set up (unless they can be affordable for that and the controller and everything? I haven't priced that part of the tank set up yet.). What would you recommend for a beginner as far as live plants? My pH currently is around 7.5 in the small tank I have, but I haven't gotten a proper tester kit to actually look into valuing the numbers. My kH seems kinda high according to the strips, but again, I don't have a proper kit yet.

The fish I'm looking into are angelfish or rainbows for sure, not sure what else go with the lower temps yet. How much does temp affect plant selections? I know I'll have to find a way to lower my pH for the fish at least, but hopefully using aged water will help.

Thanks in advance.
Post InfoPosted 31-Oct-2010 06:33Profile PM Edit Report 
truestar

-----
Enthusiast
Young Pup
Kudos: 92
Votes: 147
male usa us-indiana
Hello, and first of all, welcome to the site!

Before I forget, make sure to read the stickies on starting aquariums. They're located at the top of the Getting Started section of the forums.