Natalie
---------------
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Apolay Wayyioy
Kudos: 3730
Votes: 348
female usa us-california

Today I bought a 10 gallon tank for my dorm (going to pick it up on Saturday), and my sister is going to breed me some Tanichthys micagemmae to put in it. Unfortunately, however, I don't know how I want to set it up. Here are the specifications:

Size: 10 gallons
Lighting: two 11 watt compact fluorescents
Fish: Tanichthys micagemmae (6-10)
Filter: It came with some Bio-Wheel thing on it, but I'm worried it might not be big enough.
Substrate: Fluorite maybe?

I want the minnows to be able to breed in there and have some of the babies make it to adult hood, so I'm going to need some low, bushy-type plants. I'm also going to have some driftwood in there to soften and acidify the water.

So can anyone recommend some plants that would be good for growing fry to hide in? And maybe some larger plants that the adults could swim in? I'm not too good with identifying plants or anything. Thanks for any help...

I'm not your neighbor, you Bakersfield trash.
Post InfoPosted 26-Sep-2006 02:00Profile Homepage AIM MSN PM Edit Report 
DeletedPosted 26-Sep-2006 02:33
This post has been deleted
keithgh

---------------
---------------
*Ultimate Fish Guru*
Kudos: 6918
Votes: 1542
male australia au-victoria
A good low plant is the tops of the Serated Java Fern I have a lot of it tied to a long piece of DW. It grows extremly easy and grows very thickly as you can see.

Have a look in [link=My Profile] http://www.fishprofiles.com/forums/member.aspx?id=1935[/link] for my tank info

Look here for my
Betta 11Gal Desktop & Placidity 5ft Community Tank Photos

Keith

Attached Image:

Serated Jave Fern on DW

Near enough is not good enough, therefore good enough is not near enough, and only your best will do.
I VOTE DO YOU if not WHY NOT?
VOTE NOW VOTE NOW
Post InfoPosted 26-Sep-2006 02:35Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Natalie
---------------
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru