Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribecleaning wood!?!?!?!?!?!??!
ku5626
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 61
Votes: 7
male usa
I bought a piece of wood for my aquarium about 5 months ago. and at this time it is getting pretty covered up with green algae. i was wondering if their is anything i could do to get the wood back to looking more like a brown piece of wood, than a green object.

i have never tried to clean one before, but i was thinking about boiling it and seeing if that got the algae to come off? or is their any chemicals i could buy that would safely get the algae off so i could use the peice of wood again?

Thanks!
Post InfoPosted 29-Oct-2009 00:06Profile AIM MSN PM Edit Report 
donovan
-----
Fingerling
Kudos: 26
Votes: 143
male usa
is it the bushy kind of algae ? or is it kinda spread all over it in a thin film ,,i have several chunks of mopani in my tank my bn plecos keep it really clean but it does every so often get a bushy looking clump of algea growing on it i just kinda pop it off with the hose on the water vac it gets sucked into the waste water
Post InfoPosted 29-Oct-2009 00:18Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Shinigami

---------------
---------------
---------------
Ichthyophile
Catfish/Oddball Fan
Kudos: 2915
male usa us-delaware
If the wood doesn't have too many nooks and crannies, you could just scrub it.

--------------------------------------------
The aquarist is one who must learn the ways of the biologist, the chemist, and the veterinarian.
Post InfoPosted 29-Oct-2009 01:56Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
ku5626
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 61
Votes: 7
male usa
its more like a thin film of really grean algae, and it does have a lot of nooks and cranny's on it so scrubbing wouldn't work out so well. would boiling it take the algae off?
Post InfoPosted 29-Oct-2009 03:37Profile AIM MSN PM Edit Delete Report 
Babelfish

---------------
---------------
---------------
Administrator
Small Fry with Ketchup
Kudos: 8324
Votes: 1570
female australia us-maryland