Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeBlue ram breeding questions
Finney
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 4
Votes: 0
Hi,
I just got my first pair of German Blue Rams 5 days ago, and they were spawning on a piece of driftwood when I got home today! I’m fairly new to fishkeeping and have never bred fish before. They are in a 23 gallon tank with 3 male guppies, 1 male platy and 2 cories. The rams are doing a good job of keeping the other fish out of their territory so far.

I realize that it’ll be hard to raise the fry, especially since these are new parents, but I’d like to give it a try. I’m not sure what I should be doing at this point. Here are some questions:

1. Should I just let the parents try to keep the eggs safe, healthy, etc in the main tank?
2. What should I get to feed the fry if they do hatch?
3. I’m going to the LFS tomorrow, so is there any medication I should get to help prevent fungus on the eggs, or should I just see what happens? The male has been fanning the eggs.
4. About how long are the different stages of development?

Any advice on breeding rams or tips for keeping the eggs & fry alive would be great. Thanks!
Post InfoPosted 10-Jun-2006 08:35Profile PM Edit Report 
Garofoli
----------
Big Fish
Kudos: 143
Votes: 27
male usa
Hello,
I am into breeding rams aswell. Okay so...
1. The parents will clean and keep the eggs nice... During the day. They will possibly get eaten at night by a cory.

2. You can feed them some home made stuff like vinager eels, microworms, and BBS. There are also stuff premade like powder and liquid food. Heres the link to how to make some livefoods your own... http://www.fishprofiles.net/faq/live-food.asp

3. You can use methylene blue to stop fungusing, but it isn't necessary.

4. I don't really now about their stages of development. Someone else should answer that for you.

Hope I Helped!

Chris
Post InfoPosted 10-Jun-2006 15:53Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
sham
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Kudos: 2782
Votes: 98
female usa