AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# Freshwater Species
 L# Cichlid Central
  L# Lifespan of various dwarf cichlids?
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeLifespan of various dwarf cichlids?
Big E
-----
Fish Addict
Kudos: 382
Votes: 0
usa
EditedEdited by big e
I'm curious, based upon experience and not books/web citations, what's the oldest dwarf cichlid you've kept?

I've been a notorious trader of cichlids in the past, so I've not lost one to old age. However, I'd like to find a nice pair of cichlids that won't grow larger than 4 or 5" max (I've known convicts bigger than that, so most CA cichlids won't work) that I can keep in a 36" long planted tank for quite some time...

Eric
Post InfoPosted 07-Aug-2006 04:46Profile PM Edit Report 
Calilasseia

---------------
-----
*Ultimate Fish Guru*
Panda Funster
Kudos: 2828
Votes: 731
male uk
Oddly enough, that's one piece of information missing from Fishbase, at least it is for theApistogramma species I just checked. However, I would suspect that you can expect Dwarf Cichlids of this kind to have a lifespan of a MINIMUM of five years, possibly as long as 8, while of course some of the larger Cichlids have documented lives that are considerably longer. OldTimer recently said goodbye to his big male Tilapia buttikoferi, which was eighteen years old.

I'd have liked to be able to report on the lifespan of the Anomalochromis thomasi I kept as a teenager, but sadly, thanks to mother fiddling with the heater controls because she thought the water wasn't warm enough (and didn't think to look at the thermometer I thoughtfully stuck on the aquarium side), they went to the great aquarium in the sky well before their time.