SubscribeRainbows
General Hague
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 81
Votes: 3
male usa
EditedEdited by General Hague
I couldn't find the right place to put this thread, so I hope this is in the right spot. If wrong spot, sorry I'm a newbie to this forum since I just registered today.

Any ways, I got 2 Rainbows yesterday and they were fighting with some of my tetras and those tetras were also fighting back. Then I looked on this sight and I saw that it said Rainbows need at least a 55 Gallon Tank for most of the species. So should I return the Rainbows?
Post InfoPosted 29-Jun-2007 15:38Profile PM Edit Report 
longhairedgit
---------------
----------
Fish Guru
Lord of the Beasts
Kudos: 1778
Votes: 29
male uk
EditedEdited by longhairedgit
Sounds like a good idea, rainbows do like bigger tanks and the small size might be stressing them and making them nervy. Tetras can sometimes fin nip, and rainbows are what you could call "fin nipper intolerant" In my earlier days , I kept rainbows with tigerbarbs in a bigger tank, and if the tigerbarbs even looked at the shoal of rainbows funny, the biggest rainbows (sepiks or the kutubu's ) would seperate out of the mixed shoal and kick the hell out of the entire tigerbarb shoal. Over time , they did in fact "tame" the tigerbarbs shoal into never fin nipping again. Tiger barbs are persistant, and you can imagine the return persistance of defence it takes to stop them doing that. Rainbows can single out offending fish, and can take the fight directly to them, repeatedly.