Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeMudskipper
sora
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 96
Votes: 134
male usa
So any ideas on what i should include in a mudskipper setup? I know they need some area out of water but how much? i believe their brackish right? anyways any helps appreciated! thanks!

The true test of character is not how much we know how to do, but how we behave when we dont know what to do.
Post InfoPosted 15-Mar-2008 20:06Profile AIM PM Edit Report 
brandeeno

-----
Mega Fish
Kudos: 636
male usa us-california
i am not an expert, but one of the members here named shinigami has a mudskipper. they are brackish, and they also need to be able to get out of the water, many people get large peices of driftwood that the mudskipper can climb to get out of the water.

i have also been interested in them, so i am interested on where this can and will go!

good luck...

\\\\\\\"an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of the cure\\\\\\\"
Post InfoPosted 15-Mar-2008 21:37Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Shinigami

---------------
---------------
---------------
Ichthyophile
Catfish/Oddball Fan
Kudos: 2915
male usa us-delaware
IMO, mudskippers are not obligate brackish fish. Mine is perfectly happy in pure freshwater. IME there is no externally visible difference in appearance or behavior if they are kept in freshwater or brackish. They are highly adaptable, and supposedly spend more time out of water than in it anyway.

Mudskippers prefer space to crawl up into land, arguably they need more space on land than below water, but I have yet to see a good paludarium set up with more land than water for 'skippers. My 'skipper actually doesn't spend very much time on the land portion that I have available, which is a floating turtle rock. It might not be the best thing available, to tell the truth though, as it's not exactly that much like a mud flat.