niggit
-----
Fish Addict
Kudos: 282
Votes: 0
female canada
EditedEdited by niggit
hi everyone!

i'm a student (and avid aquarist!) who is currently studying graphic design for marketing. this september i am entering the final year of my degree. as part of the last two semesters, we have to complete a self-directed project in which we decide the topic, scope, requirements, etc...

anyhow, long story short, i jumped at the chance to incorporate my love of fish into my love of design. so, in an effort to come up with a project that could include them both i came up with the concept of hypothetically 'relaunching' my favorite local pet store as 'fish only' rather than attempting to compete in the 'general pet' category.

this relaunch will include an ad campaign to reposition the store as 'fish authorities' as well as new, detailed tank signage, product packaging, etc...

anyhow, to cut to the case, i need your help as fellow 'fishy people' regarding research...

i am mainly curious as to what you feel is lacking in the hobby (that could be provided/improved by fish stores), as well as what, if anything, stores could do that you feel would increase your success and enjoyment of the hobby.

on the other hand, i was wondering if anyone knows (firsthand or otherwise) the impact that 'big box' stores have on ma & pa shops (ie: statistics as to loss of customers, profit, etc...) as i feel that this 'relaunch' and 'refocus' would allow said small store to better compete against the larger stores.

hope this all makes sense!

in any case, i would appreciate any insights, ideas, critisms or suggestions you may have as to the viability of this project, etc... as well as any extra info you may feel is relevant!

thanks in advance guys!
wish me luck
Post InfoPosted 02-Aug-2006 21:22Profile PM Edit Report 
Garofoli
----------
Big Fish
Kudos: 143
Votes: 27
male usa