L# General Freshwater
  L# ok as an novice/experienced fishkeeper who is looking up 300ltr tank
 Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribeok as an novice/experienced fishkeeper who is looking up 300ltr tank
Starfish
Fingerling
Kudos: 19
Votes: 0
and is looking at discus.. is there any personal experience of this...

I have had everything from minnows,goldfishes to angels and as a fishkeeper that learns as she goes.. i am eying up discus as my next project and the thing i love about the discus is thier colour and somewhat docile personality and the intelligence...

and if you are able to breed them with fussieness and quality they repay you.. what else is there to know..
Post InfoPosted 20-Jul-2012 10:26Profile PM Edit Report 
RED PHANTOM
Fingerling
Kudos: 21
Votes: 1
male costarica
EditedEdited 20-Jul-2012 11:22
Greetings Starfish,

Personally I have no experience with Discus myself, but do know that they may be considered the pinnacle of freshwater aquarium fish due to their beauty and hard maintenance, so my comments are solely based on theoretical data and would expect someone with practical knowledge to add on to the thread and set us straight..

Since these fish are of the schooling type it's recommended to keep in groups, although I have seen them kept in pairs, normal school suggests six individuals.

Tank specifications recommend long and tall in order to fit their slender and tall bodies with enough swimming space. So you'll probably be looking into a 400 to 600 liter tank.

These will also help keep up with their high demands on excellent water quality since they are extremely demanding on keeping impecable water parameters, that means scheduled water changes, maintaining proper ph and hardness levels, as well as adequate temperature.

They thrive on heavily planted setups with lots of different visual barriers that create separate territories but enough swimming space to frolick around, so you will need some serious lighting power of around 3 watts per gallon.