L# 10g to 60g!
 Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribe10g to 60g!
Potto09
Small Fry
Kudos: 5
Votes: 0
male
Hi. I'm not an expert of Aquariums but I do have a small ten gallon. It currently has toooooo many fish and I've decided to ditch the "small desk corner" tank to a full 60gallon tank. My current residents are:

1 Pleco, about 4inches
5 Green Corys
7 Zebra danios
3 Neon Tetras(had more but they died)
4 Mollies(adults) + ~10 fry

So My question is, How many fish is too many for a 60 gallon. I know I want a large variety in my tank but I also want the specific species to have the appropriate numbers. I was thinking of changing my numbers to this:

1 Pleco
10 Green Corys
10 Zebra Danios
15 Neon Tetras
7-10 Mollies (ALL FEMALES!)

Is that about my limit? I want tiger barbs or Angels but I can assume there will be problems and fins will be nipped, and do you think a Redtail Black Shark is out of the question? Also maybe Ghost shrimp to help with cleanup? I'm a notorious overfeeder.

Also, I was definatly wanting REAL plants in my 60gal. I currently have small sized gravel in my 10gal aquarium. is Rocks or sand better for plants. Also, when I vaccumm, how to I avoid uprooting my plants?

Thanks for your responses up front. I know I asked a lot of questions..
Post InfoPosted 07-Aug-2011 01:45Profile PM Edit Report 
Babelfish

---------------
---------------
---------------
Administrator
Small Fry with Ketchup
Kudos: 8324
Votes: 1570
female australia us-maryland
With that stock list you really do need to upgrade so congrats on the 60!