AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# General
 L# Getting Started
  L# Almost new tank, what sould I do next?
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeAlmost new tank, what sould I do next?
DonkeyFieldMouse
Small Fry
Kudos: 10
Votes: 0
First off, Hello! Im new here! I'm also a novice aquariast, but willing to learn.
I have at the moment what I think is a 30G tank (12in X 12in X 24in) filled with plants such as Anubas, Cacomba, Hasterya, Java Fern, Crypt, and a few more I think. PLenty of rocks as well as a artificial root with Crypt on it aswell as aritificial log nicknamed "The castle" because its tall and hides things very well. There is also a piece of wood whic I will get to in a second.
Over the years I've had;
7 penguin fish (of which 5 have died, and one has mouthroot, yay.)
RIP 1 Honey Gourami
RIP 1 Dwarf Gourami
RIP 1 Flying Fox
RIP 1 clown pleco
(Still alive)
1 Clown PLeco
1-2 Penguin fish (one s literally lost, when I clean the tank tomorrow, I hope to find him. As for the bloke with mouthrot, I am not sure if he will last the night.)
2 Gold Gouramis (Male and Female pair.)
When I got my first Pleco, I had no wood in the tank. I realised that mystake as the first one died. I got a new one and placed (after soaking and boiling) a safe piece of wood in. Its a piece of wood. Not even bogwood, but it does the trick.
As for the Gold Gouramis, from both research and experience, I foud the Male very aggressive. I think the only reason the female survived so long was because she had a hidding place between a rockand the glasse/or anubas. I feed her safely when I can, by chasin the male away with a stray.

By the way, this is the fish tank from the junkyard. I have a fishing bobber with line holding some plants tothe surface connected to the thermostate. A cut piece of wood, and marbles.

Just a few questions about fishkeeping.