L# First tanks - 5 and 55 US gallons
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeFirst tanks - 5 and 55 US gallons
Hotaru
Small Fry
Kudos: 4
Votes: 0
female usa
Hey all, I'm brand new to the hobby and am about to get a 55 gallon tank to set up. I currently have a crowntail Betta I'm moving to a 5 gallon tank in a bit - I was told that would be the largest to keep from stressing him out. As for that one, I was thinking maybe a frog and some kind of bottom feeder, though I read that loaches prefer cooler water, so will likely put them in the 55 gallon. Any suggestions for the 5 gallon, including planting? I have a small bridge and some plants set aside for it.

As for the 55, I was considering some black lace / marble angelfish, loaches, featherfin rainbows (not sure how hard those are to find?), not really sure what else. I have some "fish in a box" which is how I got into the hobby, they're about 2 weeks old right now, and only 2 of them so far, but I'll try hatching again in a few days. It'll be a few months before I can move them to a large tank - they're supposed to be part of the Nothos species, similar to guppies / platys.

Also, it might just be that I didn't clean the gravel well enough, but the pH in my 1 gallon where the Betta is for the moment keeps going up near 7.5 - 8, which doesn't seem to be bothering him, but I'd like to find how to keep it level without relying on the decreaser I have.

I saw on a previous post to get an actual kit tester rather than the test strips, which is what I picked up. The master kit I saw says it has over 800 tests, does that really mean I can use that one kit to test 800 times?

Thanks in advance!
Post InfoPosted 30-Oct-2010 07:56Profile PM Edit Report 
hca
-----
Fish Addict
Kudos: 434
Votes: 211
female usa us-illinois
Hello and welcome!!

Yes those liquid test kits do give you many many tests!!!!, so many that its possible for them to go out of date before you can use it all.