Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeGood Filter For A 10 Gallon?
rocker23
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 70
Votes: 0
male canada
whats a good filter for a 10 gallon tank?
i really have no clue=P, i've seen many but the prices vary from 15$-30$. i don't rlly know which one to trust. i bought a hang on back for 25$ and it broke after a month
Post InfoPosted 11-Apr-2006 04:56Profile MSN PM Edit Report 
beetledance
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 21
Votes: 6
female usa
When you say "broke", do you mean that the plastic case broke, or the impeller/motor quit working? Is it possible you could take it back to the place you bought it?

Read up on the different types to see what you want: internal, HOB, undergravel. Some people swear by internals, but I don't want to have some huge plastic thing sitting inside an already-small tank, that I have to stick my hands inside the tank to clean filter media.

I am new at this but I think that HOB's are the easiest (and most idiot-proof) to deal with. I have a Whisper on one 10 gal, which totally sucks, the filter cartridge is tiny and gunks up every week so I am constantly cleaning it. Even though that tank is lightly stocked.

My other 10 gal has an Aquaclear 20 (which can be had for $15-20 around here), that I really like. I ordered a 2nd aquaclear to replace the stupid whisper.
Post InfoPosted 11-Apr-2006 05:27Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
jbe0404
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 47
Votes: 70
male usa
EditedEdited by Babelfish
I have the Marineland Penguin 100 Biowheel on my 10 gal. It does a great job and is easy to maintain, and pretty inexpensive too. I will warn you though, when you first plug it in it makes a lot of noise for the first night or two. But it will quiet down. Here is a link to give you an idea about price.

Link
Post InfoPosted 11-Apr-2006 06:03Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
rocker23
-----
Hobbyist
male canada
hey thanks people.