L# Getting Started
  L# Need advice: Community tank with somewhat aggressive betta
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeNeed advice: Community tank with somewhat aggressive betta
thegrayrace
Small Fry
Kudos: 3
Votes: 0
I'm just starting out a new 16 gallon tank. I added my male betta (who was previously in a tiny one gallon), and he's been absolutely thrilled with all the space. I've never seen such a hyperactive fish. But he doesn't seem too happy about sharing the space with the neighbors that I added later in the day. I added in 6 neon tetras, which he chases sometimes but doesn't get too aggressive with, along with an otocinclus catfish that he totally ignores. But I also added two sunset fire platy that he's been tormenting since they entered the tank. The two of them have pretty much resorted to playing dead at the bottom of the tank, seemingly submitting to the betta's dominance. At that point my betta seems to get bored and leave them alone. The two platy appear healthy, just terrified.

I suppose my question is: is it likely my betta will change its behavior towards the two platy, to the point where they'll at least become comfortable enough to move around freely? Or should I just remove the two platy and return them to the store before they die from the stress? I'm not sure if the betta is likely to calm down once he feels he's established his dominance. It seems like he has (since the platys have stopped moving around so much), but will he resume harassment once the platys get comfortable? I haven't noticed him taking his "battle stance" towards the platys after the first couple hours, which makes me somewhat optimistic.

I'm also thinking of adding one more type of fish (and perhaps subtracting the two platy). A few thoughts are:

- bloodfin tetras (3 or 4)
- cherry barbs (3 or 4)
- corydoras (are these best single, or in a small group?)
- dwarf gourami (1)

Any opinions as to what would be preferable with an apparently territorial betta?