Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeSwordtail and guppy pregnant
baby2002
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 14
Votes: 0
female uk
First of all I think my swordtail is pregnant as she has got really fat over the last week. Cannot see and dark spots as she is orange. Her partner died about 3 weeks ago could she still be pregnant as I have no other swordtails in the tank if she is how long are they pregant for and when should I sepperate her from the fry?
Secondly y guppy is pregnant as I can see the black spot she swims close to the top all the time when will sh ehave the fry? how long are they pregnant for? when do i take her out and put her in a hatchery?
As you can tell I am new to this only 2months, if anyone could give me any ideas I would appreciate this. Thanks
Post InfoPosted 26-Jan-2006 11:46Profile PM Edit Report 
von dutch
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 76
female australia
yes it is possible your sword can still b pregnant. and guppys stay pregnant for 30 days

~elaine~
Post InfoPosted 26-Jan-2006 11:46Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
ronnfive
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 219
male philippines
…could she still be pregnant as I have no other swordtails in the tank

Yes, definitely and she will continue to drop up to 7x and 7 months for just 1 mating. When she dropped mark your calendar as she will be dropping again for the next month, just count from the day she dropped up to 28-32 days providing good food, and good water condition.

…if she is how long are they pregant for

She will drop every month, that’s why they call it prolific.

…and when should I sepperate her from the fry?

Separate her after she completely dropped the batch, because she will eat them. Note for higher survival rate of the fry, plant your tank heavily from bottom to top. Throw some anacharis and hornworth.

Like swordtail, guppy is the same prolific… just a hint though, if your guppy or swordtail is a bit boxy shape of her belly, she will closely drop the batch.

Gud luck for the upcoming fry!!! And welcome to FP!