L# The Hospital
  L# Sick Tiger Barb
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeSick Tiger Barb
triciasmith2
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
I have a 30 Litre tank good water conditions and had 6 tiger barbs and a catfish in tank. THis morning I noticed that one of the tiger barbs had a large white spot on back. Took out of tank this afternoon and put into smaller tank with aerator in case contagious (used existing tank water). On closer inspection noticed that white spot had disappeared (maybe a scab?) and what is left looks a lot like a bite on back. Large piece of skin missing and red dot in middle. Also fin and tail very raggedy. He is smaller than other Barbs. Do you think he has been attacked or has a disease? Should I put him back in tank or leave him seperate? I am a novice hence any help would be appreciated.
Post InfoPosted 27-Feb-2009 12:14Profile PM Edit Report 
triciasmith2
Small Fry
I should probably add that water conditions last week were terrible. Something I did threw the tank out of whack and I had a massive ammonia spike (off the chart). Tank is 3 months old and was cycled. I was testing weekly and doing small partial water change weekly and fish had been doing well. Then out of the blue ammonia spiked. Not sure if I overcleaned or what however It took a week to stabilise. Hence thought might be disease due to that however I am also concerned that one of the other fish attacked it. I do not want to treat with medication unnecessarily as I am not sure he could withstand it.
Post InfoPosted 27-Feb-2009 12:44Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
brandeeno

-----
Mega Fish
Kudos: 636
male usa us-california
keep the sicky separate from the others. add some decorations form the main tank in with him/her. go to your LFS and get some melafix. dose the sick one accordingly. keep it alone for at least two weeks after the symptoms dissappear.

good work though. not many novices have a QT tank at the ready!

-Brandon