SubscribeLife dilemmas...arrgghh!
just beginning

---------------
----------
Literature Nerd
Kudos: 1380
Votes: 198
female australia au-queensland
I'm at a bit of a crossroads in my life and can't decide which way to go, so I'm calling in help and advice from all quarters (I joked in my blog that I'm planning to set up an SMS poll, and let the Australian public decide reality TV style).

Here's the situation. The city I currently live in, Brisbane, is not exactly a forerunner for the industry I work in (publishing). Jobs are pretty few and far between and don't have much room for growth. I was fairly lucky in getting a job straight out of uni, but I've been there for a year and a half now and, although I enjoy it for the most part, I am getting bored. I am also severely underpaid, and struggle for money even more so than when I was a student. Technically I'm actually a self-employed freelancer, but I work for the one company 3-4 days a week and only occasionally get other work. You would think that this would mean I could set my own rate, and I do with my one-off corporate clients, but with the complicated situation in my 'day job' I have just gone along with the rate that the owner decided on. Anyway...I have pretty much decided to only stay where I am until the end of the year, and then move on to something else. Some time ago the idea came into my head that I should just pack up and move to Sydney, which is the publishing capital of Australia, all of the big companies are based there, jobs in the industry are plentiful and very well-paid. Sure, there would also be more competition, but I have just as much chance as anyone else, I would think. I have more and more friends there now (including Callatya and other FPers!), as others have made the same move, so it's not as scary as it might have been years ago. And it would be nice to live somewhere completely different. My partner, an electrician, should have no trouble getting a job, and he's ready for a change too.