Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeWho measures KH
cappa
-----
Fingerling
Kudos: 14
Votes: 1
male australia
I have been keeping fish for about 6 years nw and have never measured KH. In fact I dont even know what it means (potential hardness or something?) The only parameter I have ever measured is pH but I haven't even measured that in two years. I mean I do regular water changes. I know my water is slightly acidic because the driftwood in there makes the water look acidic or slightly red. I dont often have a fish die for an unknown reason.

So coming back to my first question. Does anyone measure these parameters and is it even neccissary to do so given that you have a larger tank and do regular water canges?
Post InfoPosted 01-Feb-2008 21:21Profile PM Edit Report 
Shinigami

---------------
---------------
---------------
Ichthyophile
Catfish/Oddball Fan
Kudos: 2915
male usa us-delaware
EditedEdited by Shinigami
KH stands for carbonate hardness, and I think the K comes from the Germans.

I do not measure hardness, neither KH nor GH. It is not important to the health of most fish species, and is more specific for more difficult breeding purposes, buffering for african cichlids, and shell-building for inverts. None of these are parts of the hobby I enjoy, and so have never had the need to track hardness. On the other hand, if you have trouble lowering your pH because of your water, then testing the KH or GH may be wise to find out if that is the reason for the buffering capacity.

I haven't measured for nitrogenous wastes either. I've never owned a nitrate test kit as nitrate is generally not toxic to freshwater fish. I do have an ammonia test kit but I haven't used it in a while; there's really no reason to expect that it will even be present.