Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeNew tank
spankym13
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 56
Votes: 1
male usa
Hey ya'll! Just got 2 55gal tanks lastnight for a great deal! And I'm thinking to do a cichlid tank. Would love any advice Im new to these kind of fish!!!
Post InfoPosted 13-Nov-2008 21:33Profile PM Edit Report 
ScottF
---------------
Fish Addict
Addiction Hurts!!
Kudos: 330
Votes: 355
male usa
Well, I set up my 55g this summer as a peaceful multi=species community tank. my "centerpiece" fish are Bolivian Rams (South American Cichlids). They are beautiful, peaceful and get along with many other peace loving fish. They also don't require specially prepared water like the African Lake Cichlids would.

Check out their profile on this site. Also, German Blue rams (another South American Cichlid) are pretty and easy to keep as well. They look alot like the Bolivians, but I think the Bolivians are prettier.

Good luck, let us know what you decide to do!

Post InfoPosted 15-Nov-2008 03:33Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
spankym13
-----
Hobbyist
male usa
I'm looking more toward africans! I've already had all 3 types of rams. I loved them but got the bigger tank for africans
Post InfoPosted 15-Nov-2008 04:38Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
desiredusername
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 99
Votes: 36
male australia
If u want africans, u could have 2 groups of 8 average size mbuna.
CAs are more interesting though go with a breeding pair of jack dempseys, or a group of firemouths, or a texas cichlid
Post InfoPosted 15-Nov-2008 06:53Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
spankym13
-----
Hobbyist
male usa
Well Im new to these fish and so I do have a lot of questions. I used to post in the freshwater forums all the time and got great responses. Whats a good basic set up I have 2 55gal tanks and one is kinda tall and skinny and one short and wider, both are about 4.5'. Than whats best substrate,decor,filters(hob).