Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeNew Brackish Tank For GSP
spankym13
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 56
Votes: 1
male usa
Hey ya'll! I went out a got me a 29Gal tank this weekend and am wanting to set up my first brackish tank for green spotted puffer. I am new to this type or tank and puffers so any info would be great i've been reading a lot on the net but it helps to have someone to talk to! I added some marine sand on sat. night and still got some floating that im trying to take care of. Got everything set up but my filter cuz im waiting for sand to settle, whats a good hob filter for this tank and do i need two? Also what do you feed puffers?
Post InfoPosted 27-Nov-2007 05:46Profile PM Edit Report 
brandeeno

-----
Mega Fish
Kudos: 636
male usa us-california
i am not familiar with brackish, but i know people with the fresh water puffers and they feed blod worms, live snails (from an aquarium [ie ramshorm]), brine shrimp, tubifex worms, nightcrawlers, and pretty much anylive foods... but this is from someone who had a dwarf puffer not a green spotted puffer

\\\\\\\"an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of the cure\\\\\\\"
Post InfoPosted 27-Nov-2007 09:23Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
mattyboombatty

---------------
---------------
-----
Tenellus Obsessor
Kudos: 1507
Votes: 1301
male usa us-northcarolina
Yep, you'll want some type of snails in their diet to keep the beaks from growing too large. Other than that I've seen them take all sorts of frozen foods, and live foods as well, but they aren't likely to take flakes and pellets IME.

As for keeping a brackish tank, I treat it a lot like a freshwater tank with some salt in it. There's not a real precise level of salt you need in the tank, but I think the least you want in there is a teaspoon of salt per gallon. I'd aim for more than that though.

I'd probably use a penguin biowheel type filter or an aquaclear filter that has their biomedia in it.

Good luck .

Critical Fertilator: The Micromanager of Macronutrients