Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeFeeding Fish
Fishrockmysox
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 58
Votes: 12
female usa
Okay, even though I've been doing this for about 2 to 3 years I have a stupid question.

Well, I recently(about 2 months ago) fell into the spell of Old Tank Syndrome. I quit doing regular maitinence and the Nitrate is SKY HIGH. I checked last night and it was 200+ ppm

So I did a 10 to 15% water c hange last night and I did about a 25% water change maybe 10 minutes ago.

My question is: Is it alright if I feed the fish once every 2 to 3 days? I don't want to keep the Nitrates high and I'm going to be devoted to my tank from now on(really). So can anyone answer this? thanks!!

10G- 6 Zebra Danios, 1 Upside Down Catfish
20G- 1 Goldfish
72G(maybe95)- Need Stock suggestions
Post InfoPosted 18-Apr-2007 23:26Profile AIM PM Edit Report 
platy boy
-----
Banned
Kudos: 74
Votes: 30
male canada
yes i fish can last up to about a week without food but you might want bigger feedings if its 2 to 3 days stop this (diet) if any fish looks bad

33 gallon 7 neon tetras-5 platys-3 bleeding heart tetras-2 corys-1 rainbow shark-2 L83 gibby plecos
Post InfoPosted 18-Apr-2007 23:45Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
longhairedgit
---------------
----------
Fish Guru
Lord of the Beasts
Kudos: 1778
Votes: 29
male uk
EditedEdited by longhairedgit
Actually a few of your fish are little small to feed every 2 to three days for maximum health if its a regular egime, but it will do no harm for a few weeks while youre trying to bring the nitrates down.

Its better to feed them daily but in smaller amounts. The fish have a minimum requirement for food,and their gastrointestinal health depends on regular provision and passage of foods.