SubscribeMaking Plans, MTS in action!!!
ScottF
---------------
Fish Addict
Addiction Hurts!!
Kudos: 330
Votes: 355
male usa
I have definitely been bitten by the fishkeeping bug!

I'm brand new to fishkeeping and I currently have a 3+ week old 20gal with 6 tiger barbs. My next plan is for a 55 gal setup. I am currently looking through the classifieds, and have my feelers out for something used. I know there's some great deals out there for someone willing to be patient (yes, I am willing to be patient lol)

My game plan is to find the 55g tank and all the necessary equipment and wait to set it up until the 20 gal is well stabilized and cycled. I dont want to be cycling and messing with two brand new setups at once (again, patience, I am learning!)

Some questions:

HOB or Cannister filtrations best for 55g?

Should I turn my existing 20g tank into a QT tank, then start a new 20g to replace it (after all, I can't just have one viewing/hobby tank and I cannot go without a QT tank!)?

My tap water pH is at 8. Should I try to lower that pH and stabilize it from the start, or just go with it?

Thanks in advance for any comments!
Post InfoPosted 20-Jun-2007 19:58Profile PM Edit Report 
sham
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Kudos: 2782
Votes: 98
female usa
EditedEdited by sham
Of course you should get another 20g. Why bother to ask?