AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# Freshwater Aquaria
 L# General Freshwater
  L# Tips for keeping dwarf puffers healthy and happy.
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeTips for keeping dwarf puffers healthy and happy.
Samiam19
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 2
female usa
So, basically, I'm a novice at keeping puffer fish. I've been trying to keep them since May of '06 and have had several problems with keeping them. I've had a couple appear to become ill and die...and I've also had an issue with the puffers eating each other as well. So, do any of you have an helpful tips for me?
Post InfoPosted 30-May-2007 04:47Profile AIM PM Edit Report 
sham
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Kudos: 2782
Votes: 98
female usa
You need a very heavily decorated tank and only about 1 puffer per 3-5g of water. If you overstock them or don't add enough decorations they will start picking on each other until the weaker ones die and give the agressive ones more space. For that reason they do best in heavily planted tanks but you can use plastic plants, driftwood, or any other aquarium safe decorations if you aren't up to growing live plants.

Then you need well aerated water but a low flow rate. A powerfilter/hob works best so long as you don't put too large of one on. In my experience they perish quickly if you don't have enough surface agitation to keep the water well oxygenated but at the same time getting a big filter that moves alot of water will make it difficult for them to get around and feed. They are poor swimmers that move slowly. They are also messy fish so along with the slow flow rate of the filter you'll need to do lots of water changes and gravel vacs. Probably at least weekly depending how stocked the tank is. Make sure you have a good nitrate test and use it frequently.