Subscribetetra AquaSafe
tiny_clanger
---------------
Fish Guru
Kudos: 571
Votes: 12
female uk
has made my tank water blue

What can I do to get it back to something approaching normal?

-------------------------------------------------
I like to think that whoever designed marine life was thinking of it as basically an entertainment medium. That would explain some of the things down there, some of the unearthly biological contraptions
Post InfoPosted 15-Aug-2006 13:07Profile MSN PM Edit Report 
Calilasseia

---------------
-----
*Ultimate Fish Guru*
Panda Funster
Kudos: 2828
Votes: 731
male uk
EditedEdited by Calilasseia
I've been using this for nearly 12 years and NEVER had that happen ... ???

I know it's blue in colour, but the blue colour disappears once it gets to work on the chlorine in the water ... are you sure you haven't added it to chlorine free water by mistake?

What dosage did you use? A 5 ml teaspoon treats 10 litres of chlorinated water.

Here's how I use it.

Step 1 : Boil 2 litres of water in a kettle.

Step 2 : Add 8 litres of water from the tap to a bucket.

Step 3 : Insert the probe from my digital thermometer into the water, and slowly add boiling hot water from the kettle, mixing as I go, until the temperature matches that of the desrination aquarium. This step wasn't needed in July because the water came out of my tap at 23 degrees C during the heatwave, but ... in a bad winter, I might need two kettles for each bucket of water.

Step 4 : Position the bucket by the aquarium (I have a nice handy table for this), add dechlorinator, then spend 30 seconds mixing the water.

Step 5 : Add treated and temperature matched water to the aquarium.

I've been doing this since December 1994, when the Panda Fun Palace first went 'live', and I've NEVER had my water turn blue.

Oops, almost forgot ... Photos of water changing in action. Click 'next' to see the next pics in sequence. Click "View Entire Album" to browse all my fish photos.