SubscribeStop Fish Breeding?
Fish'n Chips
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
male uk
Hi guys,

I'm a complete Newbie to the game, so far I'm only at the "thinking about it" stage and reading lots about cycling, hardy fishes etc.

One thing I noticed is that a lot of sites mention how easy/difficult it is to breed species. The thing is, the last thing I'd want when I get my first tank is for fish to start breeding like rabbits, that is something I might try once I'm more experienced.

For example, one website suggested if I keep guppies I should have 2 females for every male, but to my thinking the poor bloke would be "shagging" the females non stop and I end up with lots of little ones that might get eaten by other fish and the leftovers will then contaminate the water. So how do I stop fish from breeding.

many thx in advance

Fish'n Chips
Post InfoPosted 08-Jan-2007 20:38Profile PM Edit Report 
juwel-180
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 212
Votes: 17
male uk
hi

welcome to FP with guppies if wat u are saying one male to two females you will end up with a lot of fry every couple of weeks (hence the second name the millions fish). The only way to stop them is to eather split them up or just buy one sex. That is the only way that i think you can do it and i do not know of any other way to keep them in the same tank a stop them from breeding it is just wat the do. And hence this is the problem with live beares. you could put a fish i the tank to eat the fry so as soon as they born they become food but this aint for every one. Hope this gives u an idea
Post InfoPosted 08-Jan-2007 21:05Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Joe Potato

---------------
-----
Fish Addict
Kind of a Big Deal
Votes: 309
male usa us-northcarolina