Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeHydrometer Issues
sodaaddict84
----------
Enthusiast
Kudos: 108
Votes: 52
male usa
im still learning how to measure salt in the water. when i test with my hydrometer i get various results. some times it barely goes up, other times it goes to the max. is this just operator error or could it be that my hydrometer is a piece of junk? or is this just a sign that my salt hasnt dissolved completly?

*click *flash *click "whered he go???"
Post InfoPosted 02-Sep-2007 22:49Profile PM Edit Report 
mattyboombatty

---------------
---------------
-----
Tenellus Obsessor
Kudos: 1507
Votes: 1301
male usa us-northcarolina
You have to make sure to knock all the bubbles off the swing arm. To do this, just tap it on something until you get a steady reading.

Critical Fertilator: The Micromanager of Macronutrients
Post InfoPosted 03-Sep-2007 00:00Profile Homepage PM Edit Delete Report 
sham
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Kudos: 2782
Votes: 98
female usa
Hydrometers can also be affected by temperature. Along with the fact you need to make sure you clean them out with distilled or ro water between uses or the salt will build up. If your going to use a hydrometer I suggest the ones that float. They are more accurate and still only around $10.