L# New to SW aquariums
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeNew to SW aquariums
general_bupkiss
Small Fry
Kudos: 4
Votes: 0
male australia au-newsouthwales
Hi as the topic suggests I am new to SW tanks. I ahve in the past kept FW tropical tanks, mainly chiclids.

Now I ahve purchased myself a 70gal (270L) 4ft tank and all gear that the LFS has advised me that i will need

i ahve filled the tank and added salt andf the substrate s in. In a week I will add live rock and do the whole cycling thing (fishless) as i was told by the LFS.

Now my question is the fish that i would like to have this whole tank built around is the lionfish...but with reading info on this site about how big they grow and such, i think it might end up being the dwarf fluffy lionfish.

Sow aht i would like to know is what fish could I keep with it, a yellow tang would be nice, some other high colour fish to brighten the tank up would also be nice. And I would like to keep some anenome (sp?) with or without clowns.

Is keeping a lionfish and anenome a possible thing?

any info you could give would be greatly appreciated, also a what times should the certain fsh be introduced (in any order, once ph and nitrite and nitrate lvls are 0, or whatever they are supposed to be, etc)

A link to a complete guide on cycling the tank would also be nice.

thanx in advance
Post InfoPosted 23-Feb-2010 09:43Profile PM Edit Report 
chopper3678
Fingerling
Kudos: 18
Votes: 1
male
Lionfish aren't too hard to keep but stock them with fish that it can't easily eat remember how big its mouth is a yellow tang is good or full grown clowns depending on ur lionfish size another great one is the eel for ur size I would say get a snowflake they r pretty docile
Post InfoPosted 23-Feb-2010 14:32Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
general_bupkiss
Small Fry
i wouldn't mind a snowflake eel, but thaught they needed a much bigger tank, in the area of 130gal
Post InfoPosted 23-Feb-2010 22:16Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
chopper3678
Fingerling