L# Betta not eating
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeBetta not eating
Spannsa
Small Fry
Kudos: 6
Votes: 0
female
`( I am a beginner and I just bought a betta to go in a 10 gal tank. This is monday and I just got him yesterday. the problem is he didn\'t eat when I fed him. I didn\'t put a lot of food in the tank, but it looks like he didn\'t touch any of it. Is there a problem or am I just a paranoid first timer? :::
Post InfoPosted 28-Sep-2009 15:30Profile PM Edit Report 
ScottF
---------------
Fish Addict
Addiction Hurts!!
Kudos: 330
Votes: 355
male usa
EditedEdited 28-Sep-2009 17:07
Hi Spannsa, and welcome to Fish Profiles!

It's exciting, getting into this hobby and there's definitely plenty to know and learn if you're going to have a successful, healthy aquarium.

Here's a couple articles from this site you'll want to read:

http://fishprofiles.com/articles/Acclimating__and_introducing_n/65/

http://fishprofiles.com/articles/Cycling_Without_Fish/31/

http://fishprofiles.com/articles/How_To_Buy_Healthy_Fish/43/

http://fishprofiles.com/articles/Tropical_Aquarium/68/

Those articles will give you some great background information covering some of the more important aspects of fishkeeping.

I am curious if you had gotten your tank properly set up prior to adding fish. With Betta's you can get away without cycling the tank, as long as you've added water conditioner to the water prior to adding the fish.

Ideally, you won't want to use a Betta (or any fish, really) to establish the nitrogen cycle in your tank (also know as "cycling" the tank). But a Betta can withstand the process, it's just not terribly pleasant for them.