Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeFunny Story
F1sh
-----
Fingerling
Kudos: 12
Votes: 5
male usa
--the other day, i had something mildly amusing happen.
You see, at school there is a 20 gal tank and a 55 gal tank there, and the teacher had a project where the students each get a classroom pet. so, i chose a fish, of course being a beginner i had no clue about nitrogen cycles, and all that good stuff. i got 3 blue gouramis, a pink kisser, and some mystery snails.

after 3 months of being in a 20 gallon tank, i decided to move my finned friends into the 55 gallon tank. everything was set up, it had been fishless cycling for a few weeks, and all the aquascaping was done.

the time to move the fish was upon me- i put then all into little fish bowls with water from their old tank(so not to cause too much shock) and i started the acclimation process

well, as you could all imagine, my arm got quite tired after holding a fish bowl in place for upwards of half an hour.

so i let it float, and of course it sunk

i took the bowl out and started to rinse it off, when suddenly i see the pink kisser go crazy and jump out of the water and jump back in, and, sadly, float lifelessly to the bottom

my heart sank

i scooped him out, and set him on the lab table( i was going to chop him up and feed him to the other fishes, who will eat anything->not the wisest idea since i did a little research on fish deaths and diseases)

i had the razor out and ready to slice off his head, when all of a sudden i saw his fin move

LIFE!
i put him back in, but he sank to the bottom... so, not wanting to take him out just in case, i went off and started rinsing off plants to put into the tank

i watched this little pink kisser( the elementary school kids named him Kissy Face-poor guy) swim sideways up to the top of the tank to breathe in air(labyrinth fish) and then he would float helplessly back to the bottom
this went on for several minutes