L# Apple Snail eating leaves
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeApple Snail eating leaves
vas_nas
Small Fry
Kudos: 4
Votes: 0
male
Hello, im new to the hobby and new to the site.

I just bought a big apple snail yesterday, cause im getting a fair amount of algae on my rocks and leaves, and i thought snails eat the algae...

It turns out that almost right away he started eating one of the plants, the algae is still there and he also leaves everywhere some kind of poop(?) behind him also.

Please advise me how to properly care for and feed the snail. I read they also eat peas, carrots and cucumber. But in what quantities and how often?

Also, is there any chance he'll climb up and escape the tank? (he's very active)

Thank you very much!
Vas

(Tank: 40 ltr, 4 platys, 7.5ph, no ammonia or nitrites)
Post InfoPosted 18-Feb-2015 12:32Profile PM Edit Report 
moondog

---------------
---------------
The Hobnob-lin
Kudos: 1038
Votes: 4366
male usa
there are a number of variety of apple snails, some of which will eat algae, but a lot of them which would prefer something else and will only eat algae if that's literally all they can get. try this site for information: http://applesnail.net/

"That's the trouble with political jokes in this country... they get elected!" -- Dave Lippman
Post InfoPosted 18-Feb-2015 15:20Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
vas_nas
Small Fry
Kudos: 4
Votes: 0
male
Im attaching photo of my snail and the damage he\'s done...

Im afraid it\'s a species about which the site you suggested says: \"Eats almost all types of plants; can also be fed with fish food; isn\'t suited for planted aquaria at all\"

The people at my aquarium place didn\'t know that?!

But it\'s strange: there are videos on youtube with these snails in planted aquariums ...

thank you for your reply though

Attached Image:
Post InfoPosted 18-Feb-2015 16:26Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado