Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeMountain Shrimp
wendy295
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
Hi,

I've just acquired a mountain shrimp, he's about 3 or 4 inches long. I'm a beginner at all this fish business, i've tried looking up info on the net about mountain shrimp but can't find anything. He's hiding in a cave, doing nothing, he moves a bit every now and then so he's not dead, but is this normal? Also, i have two algae eating sucky fish (not sure what they're really called) and the albino one seems to love my shrimp - she's in the cave with him all the time, the one time he ventured out, she followed. also how do i know whether he's eating OK?

If anyone has any advice, I'd be really grateful.

Thanks

Wendy
Post InfoPosted 17-May-2006 17:28Profile PM Edit Report 
illustrae
-----
Fish Addict
Kudos: 876
female usa
Well, I'm afriad we probably won't be able to help you much without more information, or even better would be pictures. The Mountain Shrimp sounds like a name that the supplier that the store got it from made up. Is it a big shrimp with "fans" on it's front legs? Is it a small clear shrimp? Brown with stripes? Most shrimp are detrius eaters and will pick up anything left on the surfaces in the aquarium, so you don't need to worry about them getting enough food that way. If they have little "fans" on their front claws, then they are filter-feeding shrimp who trap debris in the water column, and sometimes these shrimp can be hard to keep fed.

As for the sucker-fishes, I'm guessing you have bushy-nose plecos. Try looking them up and see if the pictures match what you have.

Hoping that there must be a word for everything I mean...
Post InfoPosted 17-May-2006 18:36Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
jmara
----------
Big Fish
Kudos: 431
Votes: 145
male usa