Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeBetta questions.
Soidfuf
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 52
Votes: 12
male usa
So I got a one gallon bowl with one male Betta. I have no experience with Bettas at all. It has nothing in the bowl but some glassy rocks at the bottom. Do I need a plant? Anything else I need?
Post InfoPosted 08-Mar-2008 18:56Profile PM Edit Report 
ScottF
---------------
Fish Addict
Addiction Hurts!!
Kudos: 330
Votes: 355
male usa
EditedEdited by scottf
Well, we kept a Betta in a 1 gallon bowl with glass rocks and a couple of decorations for over 3 yrs (which is a long life in Betta years) without incident. My wife changed his water 100% each week and cleaned that bowl religiously. So, it seems that a 1 gallon bowl is quite suitable for a happy healthy Betta.

Having said all that, I am one who likes to re-create "optimal" (or at least really good) conditions for my little finned friends. So, I have my male Betta in a 10 gal planted aquarium, complete with rounded gravel and some rocks. I have a filter, a heater, lighting, 5 different species of plant, and 3 other species of fish in with him. There are harlequin raspboras, panda corys and a skunk bota.

Make sure if you do decide to go with plants, you don't over do it. Mr Betta needs to be able to get plenty of access to the surface in order to breathe air via his labyrinth organ. So, lots of floating plants would be bad. Also, if you decide to get him in a bigger tank with other fish, avoid the obvious 2nd male Betta, and avoid fin nippers or any fish that would look like another male better in size, color and fin structure or he may go after them. I went for peaceful mates...

Also, again if you go with a bigger tank and filter etc, make sure you either keep the filter on a low flow rate or have plants or other obstructions in the flow path to keep from getting a heavy current in the tank. Bettas really do much better with a very low amount of water movement.