SubscribeNew Betta Questions
ScottF
---------------
Fish Addict
Addiction Hurts!!
Kudos: 330
Votes: 355
male usa
We recently welcomed a new veiltail SF into a new 10g cycled tank. We brought Teddy home Sunday, and each evening we've dropped a few Betta pellets but I have only seen him take one once and he ended up spitting it out. I even tried some flakes also, but all he did was stare at the flakes lol.

I am wondering, do they take awhile before they eat?

Also, I noticed that he is starting to spend time lying in a plant or on the bottom behind a rock. He'll go up for a gulp of air from the surface, the back down he goes.... normal? odd??

Thanks!
Post InfoPosted 24-Jan-2008 04:36Profile PM Edit Report 
brandeeno

-----
Mega Fish
Kudos: 636
male usa us-california
nah its fairly normal.. he might be bored. try to get him to flare with a miror and then he might have a heartier appetite... i am no betta expert, but he could also be used to live foods (depending on how old he is and who raised him and how they raised him)... mybe try freeze dried or frozen blood worms... or mybe brine shrimp.

\\\\\\\"an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of the cure\\\\\\\"
Post InfoPosted 24-Jan-2008 04:39Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
keithgh

---------------
---------------
*Ultimate Fish Guru*
Kudos: 6918
Votes: 1542
male australia au-victoria
My M Betta has never been shy of any foods. I would contact where you bought him to see what they were feeding him. Is there any other fish and water movement in the tank.

Have a look in [link=My Profile] http://www.fishprofiles.com/forums/member.aspx?id=1935[/link] for my tank info

Look here for my
Betta 11Gal Desktop & Placidity 5ft Community Tank Photos

Keith

Near enough is not good enough, therefore good enough is not near enough, and only your best will do.
I VOTE DO YOU if not WHY NOT?
VOTE NOW VOTE NOW
Post InfoPosted 24-Jan-2008 08:04Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
ScottF
---------------
Fish Addict
Addiction Hurts!!
male usa