AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# Freshwater Species
 L# Livebearers Lane
  L# Swordtails Won't Breed! Please Help!!!
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeSwordtails Won't Breed! Please Help!!!
RLHam3
-----
Fingerling
Kudos: 34
Votes: 0
hey i've been keeping fish for about 5 years. i've had two marigold swordtails for about 4 months. i started with one male and 2 females, but one of the females bailed out and died on my floor. i decided to just leave those 2 in there together.
they are in a 10 gal gravel aquarium with 2 ghost shrimp. i have a 30 gal filter and plenty of anacharis plants and even a flower pot. i test the water once every 1-2 weeks and everything is completely normal. temperature is around 78 F. i do a 20% water change at least once a week. i feed them tropical flakes with a treat of bloodworms every day or 2.
the male will chase the famale around and "flirt" with her but still no fry! i don't even think that she's been prgnent yet. maybe i'm missing it or something but i just have no idea whats goin on. are there any ways to identify a pregnant swordtail? or maybe im just missing the fry being born and by the time that i look they have all been eaten?
i dunno. i think that i would have noticed SOMETHING by now.

Whats going on?!?!?!?!?
Post InfoPosted 17-Sep-2008 22:45Profile PM Edit Report 
truestar

-----
Enthusiast
Young Pup
Kudos: 92
Votes: 147
male usa us-indiana
What is the PH? I doubt it would really stop them from breeding, but Livebearers do best in slightly alkaline (7.1-7.5) water. They might just be eating all the fry before you see them. Just be patient, I'm sure that in a few more months you'll have a tank overrun with Swordtails and you'll be able to look back at this and laugh about how worried you were that they weren't breeding!
Post InfoPosted 18-Sep-2008 00:44Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
poisonwaffle

----------
Mega Fish