Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeCompatible Plants
JBennett181
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 46
Votes: 2
male usa
im about to leap into live plants for my 29 gallon community and was wondering what would be good! im new to plants so im not sure. 2 mollies 3 white skirt tetras, 6 danios, 2 african butterfly fish, and 3 mystery snails. what would be some good, pretty easy, plants to put in and what about a floating plant for my butterflys? thanks

i like feesh
Post InfoPosted 05-Feb-2008 01:36Profile AIM PM Edit Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado
Hi,
It sounds like a very nice tank. We need to know about
the lighting that you have on it. Is it one or two bulb
flourscents? What are the wattages of the bulbs?

Plants are classified as floating or non, and also by the
amount of light that they need to thrive.
For the latter, we use the terms "Low, Medium, and High."
Low light plants are plants that thrive around 1-1.5 watts
per gallon. Medium light plants thrive between 2 and 3
watts per gallon. High light plants thrive with 3+ watts
per gallon.

To figure out how many watts per gallon your tank has,
you total the wattages of the bulbs and divide that total
by the capacity of the tank. For instance, if you have
two 40 watt bulbs over a 29 gallon tank, you would have
2 x 40 = 80/29 = 2.75 watts per gallon and you could
expect any of the low and very nearly every of the
medium light plants to thrive.

Frank

-->>> The Confidence of Amateurs, is the Envy of Professionals <<<--
Post InfoPosted 05-Feb-2008 02:54Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
JBennett181
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 46
Votes: 2
male usa
i looked everywhere the wattage is no where to be found i called the help line but they were closed... can you atleast tell me what plants are good for the fish and what not and ill get back to you on the wattage?

i like feesh
Post InfoPosted 05-Feb-2008 03:18Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
Shinigami

---------------
---------------