Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeWhat Chemicals to add for a planted tank
shawnp2k
----------
Hobbyist
Kudos: 14
Votes: 1
male canada
OK as you can tell with my other posts that i am rather new to this whole planted tank setup. I have realized what i have done wrong to have killed or crippled my current plants. I have read a lot of stuff through little_fish 's log about his 125gal planted tank. here are a few things i am not too sure about (the more technical question

(LF) has his schedual setup as follows.. well approximately

KN03 1tsp 3x a week
KH2p04 1/4tsp 3x a week
Plantex .5tsp 3x per week
seachem equal .5tsp 1x a week

ok if i were to go to big al's what products would i be picking up to make this cocktail of fert?

secondly what do Macros do, and plantex do? I know im a newbe so be gentle lol

Shawn
Post InfoPosted 21-Mar-2006 20:32Profile PM Edit Report 
LITTLE_FISH
---------------
----------
***** Little Fish *****
Master of Something
Kudos: 1997
Votes: 670
male usa
Shawn,

KN03 1tsp 3x a week
KH2p04 1/4tsp 3x a week
Plantex .5tsp 3x per week
seachem equal .5tsp 1x a week

ok if i were to go to big al's what products would i be picking up to make this cocktail of fert?

secondly what do Macros do, and plantex do? I know im a newbe so be gentle lol

I have to write fast here as I am on my way out of the office:

These ingredients are from Greg Watson, I think the web address is simply gregwatson.com.

There you could get the KN03 and the KH2p04. I no longer use Plantex, I couldn't quite figure out the dosing. I use Tropica Master Grow (TMG) which you can get at Big Al's. This - like Plantex - is the micro vertilizer. Macros are foods in larger quantities that plants need and micros are small amounts, that is the only difference.

Seachem Equlibrium has some micro goodies in it, but I need it because I have a very low GH. It buffers it a little with goodies.

Gentle enough ?

Will check back in later,

Ingo