L# What Type Of Cichlid?
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeWhat Type Of Cichlid?
willy
Hobbyist
Kudos: 11
Votes: 2
male australia
hi all, im kinda new to fish keeping, i have a 100liter or 27USg tank dimensions are760mm l,380mm w,380mm h.
was looking to get some Cichlids and not sure what to get any suggestions on which ones and stocking limits?
thanks willy.
Post InfoPosted 06-Apr-2009 10:41Profile PM Edit Report 
riri1
----------
Fish Addict
Kudos: 435
Votes: 44
male
Well 27 gallons isnt much for cichlids....... most need 55 gal and up u could go with 1 pair of convict cichlids but they will have many many many many many many many many many many many babys...... they are worse then rodents..... so in like a week ull probly have around 100 baby cons and then in about 3 weeks after that they will probly breed again. so they are out if u dont have fish to feed the babys to....u might have to go for rams or some type of african cichlid i dont really kno much about africans so someone else will have to hwlp u wit that.
Post InfoPosted 06-Apr-2009 23:16Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
Mez

---------------
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Asian Hardfeather Enthusiast
Votes: 162
male uk
Shell dwellers (neolamprologus sp.) from lake tanganyika would work well, as would many other dwarf cichlids like apistogramma species and pelvichromis sp.
Post InfoPosted 07-Apr-2009 04:54Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
riri1
----------
Fish Addict
Kudos: 435
Votes: 44
male
oops forgot apistos havent kept them much...
Post InfoPosted 07-Apr-2009 08:31Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
willy
Hobbyist
male australia
EditedEdited by willy
I was looking at getting pelvichromis sp. actually, i will have to test my tap water for ph and hardness to narrow down which ones to get.
il get back to you's when i do, thanks for the suggestions

its actually a 109litre tankwhich is i think 29gal?
Post InfoPosted 07-Apr-2009 08:46Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Mez

---------------
----------