L# my 1st Malawi tank...
 Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribemy 1st Malawi tank...
Icelander
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
male iceland
hey ya all... I'm new to this forum but not new to the hobby at all... but now I'm planing to put up my first malawi single spc tank. (have had american tank b4 and mostly dwarfs) how ever I like to know how many Pseudotropheus zebra I can have in 79g tank/ 300 liters.and what other tank mates I can have IF I like to have a mix tank...

to get the best coloration in the fish what sub should I have that is dark or light color sand????
I've been told from SW keeper that black back wall brings out the color and I tried and it did work for a bit but I like more...
thanks for all reply
Icelander

Fish are friends not food
Post InfoPosted 12-Nov-2010 18:47Profile PM Edit Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado
Hi, and WELCOME to Fish Profiles!

I'm not an expert on the fish of your choice, but I can
offer some reassurance as far as accenting the coloration
of your fish.

Generally speaking a darker substrate will accent the
coloration of your fish. Tan's generally washout the
coloration to the eye. White sand can give the fish
problems as it reflects the light and they can see their
shadow below them and they get worried that there might
be a predator below them. Unless they are fish that like
the open water and are not generally considered food by
others, white or light colored substrate combined with
few places to hide will cause stress.

Again, Welcome Aboard!

Frank

-->>> The Confidence of Amateurs, is the Envy of Professionals <<<--
Post InfoPosted 14-Nov-2010 07:35Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Babelfish

---------------
---------------
---------------
Administrator
Small Fry with Ketchup
Kudos: 8324
Votes: 1570
female australia us-maryland
What frank said is spot on .