Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribe20 gal.Saltwater???
mrsmonty
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 58
Votes: 33
female canada
Hi all... I was just wondering if I could use my 20 gal. and change it into a saltwater aquarium... is it too small??? and is a saltwater aquarium much harder to take care of?? I've never owned a saltwater tank.. i have been keeping freshwater for 2 years.

any help and/or comments would be greaty appreciated.. thank you!
Post InfoPosted 07-Mar-2006 18:04Profile PM Edit Report 
Sonic2041
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 142
Votes: 19
male usa
it is possible, but exspecially for your first saltwater you would want a bigger tank. more like something 50+ gallon
Post InfoPosted 07-Mar-2006 20:28Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
dthurs
---------------
---------------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Kudos: 4170
Votes: 529
male usa
For SW you will need to monitor the tank much more closly. Smaller tanks such as a 20gal will need to be topped off daily. Even small changes in the water can make a big change in the quality. Larger tanks have a better buffer. 55gal tanks make for a good starter tank as far as size is concerned. But to answer yoru question, yes, a 20gal tank will work. The draw backs are, more work, and a much lower stocking level. Only 2 or 3 fish.

Dan
Post InfoPosted 07-Mar-2006 20:43Profile Homepage AIM Yahoo PM Edit Delete Report 
sham
----------
Ultimate Fish Guru
Kudos: 2782
Votes: 98
female usa
My 20g is working out fine for a simple fowlr setup. If I get the lighting tweaked a little more I want to add some corals. You can fit 2-3 small fish(~2) in a 20g. I'm doing just neon gobies right now but plan to stock it with a tailspot blenny and firefish when I manage to find the tailspot.
Post InfoPosted 08-Mar-2006 02:40Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
mrsmonty
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 58
Votes: 33
female canada