L# Getting Started
  L# New 38 gallon - filter help
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeNew 38 gallon - filter help
SPG
Small Fry
Kudos: 6
Votes: 0
Planning for a new 38 gallon aquarium for the family. Still a newbie in the fish world, so need all the help I can get. I want to make sure I do it right for better family enjoyment. I was going to get two aquaclear 30s. Do you think this is sufficient? I have never used a canister and don't know anything about them - I am not a very mechanical person - so if it isn't simply to use, then not a good option for me. Would appreciate your thoughts.
Post InfoPosted 09-Feb-2015 19:28Profile PM Edit Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado
Hi, and welcome to Fish Profiles!
The "30" is probably the lowest "size" filter that I would put on your tank. I would probably use the next size larger. They are a good, quality filter, and they run with minimum maintenance. You must clean it on a regular basis. Turn off the filter, and remove it from the back of the tank. Pour any remaining water out into the sink and then, under running water rinse off the sponge, squeezing it under the running water. It comes with granulated carbon. To me, there are two times to use the carbon. The first is with a brand new tank as it will remove some of the toxins that occur in a newly cycling tank. The second is after medicating a tank for some disease or parasite. When you medicate the tank and the period of medication is over, then the tank should be partially drained (about 50%) to dilute the medication, and then the carbon inserted in the filter to remove the remaining medication. Be sure that impeller (pump) is free of any debris ( you can use a Q'Tip for that) and an old toothbrush will remove any algae or other debris in the filter box.