AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# General
 L# Getting Started
  L# Starter with a 20 gallon tank. Help please?
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeStarter with a 20 gallon tank. Help please?
Cortrell
Fingerling
Kudos: 14
male
EditedEdited 24-Feb-2010 03:17
Alright, I'm pretty new at fish keeping. I've kept small, probably very tolerant, tetras over the years and currently am caring for a few other things right now. It wasn't until I found this site that I learned how precise and delicate aquarium systems really are. I add my tap water conditioner, change my filters, and do water changes (rock vacuuming), but I have no idea how to be a more careful keeper.

My tank:
2' x 1' x 15"
Aqueon HOB filter
Cylinder heater
I keep it as close to 76F because that's what I've been told to do by the instructions on the heater.

Currently I have:
3 Black Phantom Tetra
2 Red Wag Platys
2 Angelfish (very young)
1 Butterflyfish
1 Common Pleco
1 Red Claw Crab

I've pretty much gradually collected these fish over the past 2 months, keeping compatibility charts in mind, and have been caring for them to the best of my knowledge.
So far, nothing seems to have gone wrong. But I've been through several discussions here that lead me to believe things will start going wrong (too small of tank for adult fish, ph levels, and other things) and I may lose control of my tank.

I would love any advice whether it's about how to care for my tank, my fish, better fish ideas, anything! Upgrading size isn't an option and I'm on a somewhat tight budget. Thanks in advance.
Post InfoPosted 23-Feb-2010 04:09Profile PM Edit Report 
brandeeno

-----
Mega Fish
Kudos: 636
male usa us-california