L# Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
 Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribe55 gal Log
lioness
----------
Enthusiast
Kudos: 55
female usa
I've been reluctant to post pictures of my tank because I am new to live plants, have made (and am still making) lots of mistakes, and I am constantly dissatisfied with the look of the tank. However, I've finally come to realize that if I want it to get better I'm going to need help and feedback from folks who've had a bit more experience than me. I really appreciate you all!

Anyway, here goes...from the begining...

Tank first established: 3/26/07

Very yucky looking cloud of particles, even after many rinsings. Filter is a Emperor 400. Substrate is 30 lbs of Flourite topped with play sand.

Added first batch of plants: 4/03

Cloudy, but improving. Filtering over peat. No additional fertilizers. No CO2 system. 2 32 watt 6500K bulbs, 1 40 watt 5000k. approx 10-12 hours per day. Being new, I purchased a variety of plants to see what I could grow and what I liked. From left to right we have: hornwort, narrow-leafed ludwiga, dwarf saggitaria, broad-leaf ludwiga, creeping jenny, anubias nana, wisteria, amazon sword, bacopa, java fern, anubias barteri, twisted vals. Plants were shipped and the shipment took 6 days! The vals, bacopa, and ludwigas arrived as mostly brown mush. Planted them anyway, ever hopeful.

Slowly growing: 4/14

Now home to 6 peppered cories and a dwarf gourami female. Hornwort is starting to take off. I finally gave up on the bacopa. Also took out some of the rotting ludwiga and removed almost all of the val leaves.

Green water stage: 5/04