Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeFloating Driftwood
amackattack
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 84
Votes: 0
male usa
Just purchased a piece of DW from my LFS. Not sure of the type, but it is redish in color and I have seen it in many fish tanks. Anyway, when I put it in my tank, unlike the last piece I bought, it did not sink, it went straight to the surface and floated.

I stuck it in a bucket of water where it has been for a week now. I just tried putting it back in the tank today, and no change, although it felt heavier.

Any advice to speed this process up or is it just a matter of "hurry up and wait"?

Thanks,

amackattack
Post InfoPosted 31-Jan-2010 07:03Profile Homepage PM Edit Report 
Shinigami

---------------
---------------
---------------
Ichthyophile
Catfish/Oddball Fan
Kudos: 2915
male usa us-delaware
Some people boil the driftwood. This forces the air out and the water in. I've never tried this before, though, and it requires a sizeable pot if the wood isn't a small piece.

You could also try putting a rock on it, if possible, to make it sink.

--------------------------------------------
The aquarist is one who must learn the ways of the biologist, the chemist, and the veterinarian.
Post InfoPosted 31-Jan-2010 07:12Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
amackattack
-----
Enthusiast
male usa
I can not boil it. It is sticking out of a 5 gal bucket right now.

I tried a rock for about 30 seconds, then got scared it might fall with unmentionable concequences. Any way you know to stabilize it with a rock on it?

Thanks,

amackattack
Post InfoPosted 31-Jan-2010 07:21Profile Homepage PM Edit Delete Report 
lowlight
-----
Enthusiast
Kudos: 94
male usa us-california
Just be patient and it will eventually sink.
Post InfoPosted 31-Jan-2010 07:56Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
amackattack
-----
Enthusiast
male usa
I figured that, but was hoping for a magic bullet. Oh well, wait it is.

Thanks
Post InfoPosted 31-Jan-2010 08:19Profile Homepage PM Edit Delete Report 
keithgh