Subscribe40 Gallon Fancy Goldfish Tank
smapty
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 64
Votes: 7
male usa
Greetings All,

So here is the setup I have for my fancy gold fish tank. I am new to keeping coldwater fish so any help would be welcomed.

To start I have two Ryukin Goldfish. They are about an inch and a half long. And they are orange and white. Cute little buggers!

My substrate consists of assorted gravel and Seachem Flourite. I am using a Penguin Bio Wheel 200 filter with two filter pads. Since I didnt want to put a ton of money into lighting I used two lights that consist of a 20w Life Glow and 20w Aqua Glow bulb.

I decided to buy some goldfish friendly plants for the tank...so far the goldfish have not eaten them...yet.
- Anubias Barteri var. coffeefolia
- Vallisneria Tortifolia "Corkscrew Val"
- Sagittaria Platyphylla "Sag Chilensis"
- Crinum Thaianum "Onion Plant"
- Anubias Frazeri
- Anachris...this happens to be the one plant they pick on

I keep the lights on from 11-9. I give the tank a half a cap full of Seachem Flourish (I have Excel but I dont use it cause i hear it melts Anachris). Anywho that is what I have. Any goldfish experts are free to give me lots of tips for raising these little fishies right!
Post InfoPosted 08-Feb-2008 17:25Profile PM Edit Report 
Two Tanks
-----
Big Fish
Kudos: 328
Votes: 13
female usa
Your tank sounds fine for now, but in time your goldies will get huge (mine has - one orange fantail in a 29 gallon). I have found that my goldfish pigs out on thinly sliced peices of orange. The vitamin C will really bring out their color. Eventually I am going to order a stock pond from Tractor supply for my goldie and set it up either in the garage or outside (we are having a terrible drought here, however). Keep up with the water changes (vacuum out the fish poo) and make sure there is plenty of filtration. I put a filter for a 60 gallon on my 29 and it seems to work really well.
Post InfoPosted 14-Feb-2008 19:29Profile PM Edit Delete Report