Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeHow do you stock a hex tank?
hca
-----
Fish Addict
Kudos: 434
Votes: 211
female usa us-illinois
I got a roughly 20 gal hex from a garage sale for $3.00. Couldnt pass it up. Included was the hood, a UGF, 2 airpumps, a 10-20 gal HOB filter, a submersable heater, substrate, and airstones. All works except the actually light fixture. Couldnt pass it up.
Ive got it home, cleaned and boiled everything, filled it and it is currently sitting to make sure Im not going to have leaks in a couple days, but doubt it, as it was inside, and full and running, just no fish....
I know stocking a hex is lighter stocking than a 20 long, or even a 20 high, and its based more on surface area ( but Im not good at math....) so how much lighter??
My thoughts for this tank were:
Stock- 1 pearl gourami
8 harlies
4 + khuli loaches
Is this tooo much for a final stock?
Lighting- The actually light fixture is SHOT, but rest of hood is in good order- thinking of cutting the light fixture out, replacing with piece of plexiglass, and hanging lights over tank. Considering depth of tank, its going to be a low light tank anyway.
Considering javafern, java moss, crypts and anubias. Most attached to a interesting and tall piece of driftwood going up the middle of the tank. ( now to find the right piece of wood)
Post InfoPosted 03-Nov-2009 20:45Profile PM Edit Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado
Hi,
First, here is a link that will help you figure your
problem out:

http://www.howmanyfish.com/hex.htm

I like your choice of plants and the inclusion of the
driftwood. Good idea about the light.

Frank

-->>> The Confidence of Amateurs, is the Envy of Professionals <<<--
Post InfoPosted 03-Nov-2009 23:26Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
hca
-----
Fish Addict
female usa us-illinois
Thanks frank. That was a helpful calculator I hadnt found.