Post Reply  New Topic
Subscribe20g Stocking Ideas etc.
TurboTurtle
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 12
Votes: 2
female usa
I've been moving too often for the past couple of years to keep any fish but I've settled down again and am looking to start my 20g up again. I would like to have this be a planted tank, which I've never done before, and also have dwarf cichlids. I would also like to do a fishless cycle if I can get the right materials. My only other want for this tank is a clown pleco because my spouse has been asking for one for years now.

So I'm interested in hearing thoughts on stocking, good substrates for plants, and any experiences with a fishless cycle.
Post InfoPosted 06-Jul-2009 16:13Profile AIM PM Edit Report 
Babelfish

---------------
---------------
---------------
Administrator
Small Fry with Ketchup
Kudos: 8324
Votes: 1570
female australia us-maryland
Kribs might do well for you, not sure how they'd go with the plants since I cant keep plants with mine (the silver dollars keep eating them )

You may want to look into building up the hardscape in this tank. Kribs like lots of hiding spots, and do tend to hang out near the bottom. A small school of kribs should work along with the pleco, however I worry about heavy bottom stocking and not having enough room for everyone. A hollow log would also be a great idea (you'd want the wood for the pleco anyway).

As for fishless, if you cant find unscented uncolored ammonia, you can always use a sprinkle of fish food every day, that will eventually start to decompose starting the fishless cycle. I'd get the plants in and established as your first step. Keep in mind most 20's don't come with enough light, save yourself the hassle and get an all glass lid then look at lights that can fit over it. IMO 20's are a great size to go with heavy plantings. Still small enough to do DIY CO2 but big enough to have some room for a good stocking.

^_^