L# Help, new tank and lost both my African Dwarf frogs and 3 fish
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeHelp, new tank and lost both my African Dwarf frogs and 3 fish
alshnicole
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
female usa
I am a novice at this. My husband bought a 15 gallon column tank for the family fish tank. We set it up, followed the instructions and let it run for about 4-5 days fishless. Then we headed out to Petsmart to get some fish. The lady explained to us that we might want to start out with a couple to make sure the levels in the water were okay... We purchased 2 Mickey Mouse mollys and 2 dalmation mollys (I think). After about a week, they were doing great so I went back and purchased 2 more fish (I don't remember what kind), 2 African dwarf frogs, 2 snails and a handful of ghost shrimp. I also purchased frog/tadpole food and freeze dried brine shrimp. Everyone seemed to be getting a long great and then our fish starting dying. We have lost both frogs, both Mickey Mouse, and 1 of each of the dalmation and other fish. The snails and shrimp seem okay. We suspect it may have been the brine shimp....any suggestions?
Post InfoPosted 18-Mar-2014 13:39Profile PM Edit Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado
EditedEdited 19-Mar-2014 05:47
Hi, And WELCOME to Fish Profiles!

"We set it up, followed the instructions and let it run for about 4-5 days fishless."
I think this is the problem. You did good, but you were missing some critical information. While the tank is running, without fish, it has to have some sort of ammonia in the water. Take a minute or two and in the FAQ for this site read the information on the Nitrogen or Nitrification Cycle.