L# Java Fern leaves turning brown
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeJava Fern leaves turning brown
buro
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
Hi, I have a 55 gallon tank in which I have been keeping a java fern for the last 4 months. It is tied to a piece of wood and was growing very well. Recently however, the broader leaves of the plant have started to turn completely brown. This has been happening to one of my amazon sword plants as well, though the rest of the plants are doing quite well.This actually started happening after I increased the lighting of my tank from 20 watts to around 40 watts. Is this happening due to the increased lighting or some defeciency in the water? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Post InfoPosted 31-Oct-2006 16:12Profile PM Edit Report 
FRANK

---------------
---------------
Kudos: 5263
Votes: 1690
male usa us-colorado
Hi,
It sounds like a nutrient deffiency.
Check out this site, and you might also "BookMark" it for
the future:

http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_nutrient.htm

Another version from a different site:

http://www.otoaquatic.com/nutrient_deficiency.asp

Frank

-->>> The Confidence of Amateurs, is the Envy of Professionals <<<--
Post InfoPosted 31-Oct-2006 17:46Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
keithgh

---------------
---------------
*Ultimate Fish Guru*
Kudos: 6918
Votes: 1542
male australia au-victoria
It would help if you provided us with a full water peramiters, and more info about your tank. Are you using any fertlisers if so what are you using and how much do you use per week?

Have a look in [link=My Profile] http://www.fishprofiles.com/forums/member.aspx?id=1935[/link] for my tank info

Look here for my
Betta 11Gal Desktop & Placidity 5ft Community Tank Photos

Keith

Near enough is not good enough, therefore good enough is not near enough, and only your best will do.
I VOTE DO YOU if not WHY NOT?
VOTE NOW VOTE NOW
Post InfoPosted 01-Nov-2006 07:02Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
bensaf

---------------