L# DIY 2 30G TANKS TO 1 60G TANK
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeDIY 2 30G TANKS TO 1 60G TANK
CHOMPPPPP

Small Fry
Kudos: 6
Votes: 0
male usa us-iowa
FIRST TIME POSTER I'M NEW TO THIS FISH BUSINESS. I HAVE A FEW QUESTION I WOULD LIKE SOME EXPERTISE ON. I HAVE ONE THIRTY GALLON TANK WITH TWO ANGELFISH AND ABOUT 10 PLANTS I ADDED A WEEK AGO. ROCK GRAVEL. A TETRA 30-60 AIR PUMP. A HEATER. AN AQUATECH 30-60 FILTER AND A TETRA 20-40 ADVANCED FILTER. ONE FOUR FOOT T5...54W....5000 LUMENS. I REALIZE THIS IS PROBABLY NOT ENOUGH LIGHT. 2500 LUMEN SINCE MY TANK IS ONLY 24". I HAVE ANOTHER T5 ON THE WAY WHICH WILL PUT ME AT 5000 LUMEN. MY TANK HAS BEEN SET UP FOR ABOUT 30 DAYS NOW. MY ANACHARIS SEEM TO BE TURNING TRANSPARENT SO JUST A FEW DAYS AGO I STARTED ADDING SEACHEM FLORISH HOPING THEY WOULD RECOVER. COULD IT JUST BE NOT ENOUGH LIGHTING? NOT ENOUGH FERTILIZER? NOW PICTURE THIS...MY GOAL IS TO CUT THE SILICON ON THE SIDES/WIDTH OF BOTH MY 30G AQUARIUMS AND SLIDE THE TWO TANKS TOGETHER TO MAKE ONE GIANT 60G IF POSSIBLE....I HAVE A SEPARATE 1G TANK FOR THE ANGELFISH TO SURVIVE 48 HRS...DONT WORRY. SO MY NEXT QUESTION IS WHEN I DO THE THE SIDES PULLED OFF....WOULD THAT BE TOO MUCH PRESSURE FOR JUST SIMPLE SILICONE TO HOLD TOGETHER? WOULD I NEED MORE SUPPORT FOR THE JOINTS? WHAT KIND OF SUPPORT? I AM OPEN TO ALL IDEAS INCLUDING "NOT DOING IT" THE PICTURE IS SELF EXPLANATORY BUT ITS BASICALLY MY TWO TANKS AND AS YOU CAN SEE I'M NOT CURRENTLY USING THE ONE.

Attached Image:

TYVM

CH-CH-CHOMPPPPPPPP
Post InfoPosted 02-Sep-2011 00:49Profile PM Edit Report 
superlion

----------
Mega Fish
Kudos: 673
Votes: 339
female usa
I can't imagine the silicone would hold together. The glass on those tanks is also probably not thick enough. If you look at a 60-gallon aquarium, you'll see that the glass is quite a bit thicker than either of yours. Water is very heavy and every amount of structural support is needed to hold an aquarium together.